Concealed Carry in Arizona
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Unrestricted / Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
The “Unrestricted / Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents” classification means that the state of Arizona does not require permits for concealed carry in their state but still issues permits upon request for Arizona residents and non-residents who need a physical permit to conceal carry in states that recognize non-resident permits.
Minimum Requirements for a Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit:
- You are a resident of Arizona or a United States citizen;
- You are 21 years old or older
- You are not be under indictment for a felony offense;
- You are not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or your right to possess firearms has be restored AND you must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.
- You are not suffering from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
- You are not unlawfully present in the United States;
- You complete a firearms safety training program pursuant to ARS §13-3112.N.
Miscellaneous Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit Information:
- How to apply for your Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit:
- Review the provisions contained in Arizona Revised Statute Title 13, chapters 4 and 31.
- Contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit to request an application packet which contains an application, two fingerprint cards and a return envelope.
- Using the return envelope provided, send the completed application, adequate documentation which demonstrates firearms safety competence, two complete sets of fingerprints, the appropriate fee in the form of a money order, cashier’s or certified check; payable to the AZ DPS to the CWPU. For a current list of fees click here. Fees are non-refundable.
- Arizona Concealed Weapons Permits are issued for five year increments before requiring renewal.
- Anyone 21 years old or older, who can legally possess or own a firearm, can conceal carry a handgun in Arizona without a permit.
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.