Concealed Carry in Arkansas
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents Only
The “Shall Issue to Residents Only” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Arkansas resident if they meet all of the legal requirements. Non-Arkansas residents are not eligible for Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License.
Minimum Requirements for a Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit:
- You must be 21 years of age or older;
- You must be a U.S. Citizen and a resident of Arkansas for at least the last 90 days (Exemptions are made for retired law enforcement professionals and active duty military members);
- You have successfully completed a firearms training program which was approved by the Arkansas State Police within the last six months.
- You do not suffer from a mental or physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun and has not threatened or attempted suicide;
- You have not been convicted of a felony in a court of this state, of any other state, or of the United States without having been pardoned for conviction and had firearms possession rights restored.
- You are not subject to any federal, state, or local law that makes it unlawful to receive, possess, or transport any firearm, and has had his or her background check successfully completed through the Department of Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Instant Check System;
- You are not chronically or habitually abuse a controlled substance to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
- You are not chronically or habitually use an alcoholic beverage to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired;
- You desire a legal means to carry a concealed handgun to defend himself or herself;
- You have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent and/or you have not been voluntarily or involuntarily committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility;
- You are not a fugitive from justice or does not have an active warrant for his or her arrest;
- You are willing to sign a statement of allegiance to the United States Constitution and the Arkansas Constitution.
Miscellaneous Arkansas Concealed Carry Permit Information:
- How to apply for a Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry License and what you will need in your application packet:
- A properly-completed application form. Please submit the ORIGINAL application. DO NOT SEND COPIES OF THE APPLICATION. It is suggested that you make a copy of the application for your records.
- A nonrefundable license fee and applicable fee(s) for state and national background checks. The amount is $144.25 (application fee $100.00, state background check $25.00, and the FBI background check $19.25). You may send one (1) check or money order payable to the “Arkansas State Police.” All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE.
- A full set of classifiable fingerprints of the applicant; (ONLY blue applicant fingerprint cards with AR920570Z printed in the ORI field/section will be accepted). The fingerprint card must be completed in BLACK INK. Applicants are responsible for obtaining a complete, classifiable set of fingerprints. It is strongly suggested that fingerprinting be accomplished either through your local law enforcement agency, a private fingerprinting business by a trained fingerprint technician or your firearms safety instructor. Even if your fingerprints may have been taken before, a new fingerprint card as outlined above must be submitted. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARD.
- A properly completed certification of training from a firearms safety instructor who is registered with the ASP. The application packet must be received by this office within six (6) months of the training date. This means the date at which the department physically reviews your packet, not your packet’s postmarked date.
- Mail the application packet to: Arkansas State Police, CHCL Section, 1 State Police Plaza Drive. Little Rock, AR 72209. You can also drop off your completed application in person at the Arkansas State Police Headquarters at Interstate 30 and Geyer Springs Road (Exit 133) in Little Rock. They will not process your application while you wait but this will cut out the mailing part of the process.
- Processing times can vary greatly due to the department’s workload or if an applicant’s package requires further research due to past criminal background. A wait time for 4-6 weeks is a safe estimate but it can be longer.
- Arkansas Concealed Handgun Carry Licenses are issued for five year increments.
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.