Concealed Carry in Georgia
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents Only
The “Shall Issue to Residents Only” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Georgia resident if they meet all of the legal requirements. Non-Georgia residents are eligible for the Georgia permit.
Minimum Requirements for a Georgia Concealed Weapon Permit:
- You must be a resident of Georgia.
- If you were born outside of the United States or one of its territories you must send a copy of proof of citizenship or alien status.
- You must be lawfully present in the United States.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must not under indictment nor have been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
- You must not be convicted of misdemeanor or domestic violence.
- You must not be under court order.
- You must not be an unlawful user or addicted to any controlled substance.
- You must not be dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You have not renounced U.S. citizenship.
- You must not be adjudged insane or mentally deranged.
- You must not be a fugitive from justice.
Miscellaneous Georgia Concealed Carry Permit Information:
- Instructions for applications for a license to carry concealed deadly weapon:
- *The process might differ depending on which county you live in. Get in touch with your County Probate Court for instructions.
- Acquire a Photo I.D. and a Proof of Residency. A state driver’s license and state I.D. card are perfectly acceptable.
- The probate court clerk processes your application and will give you two (2) fingerprint cards.
- After receiving the card, bring your completed application to your local sheriff’s office for fingerprinting.
- The sheriff’s office then forwards your application to the probate court judge who will issue the license if everything goes well during the background check.
- Typically, the whole application process costs between $70 to $ 78.
- A weapon concealed carry license is valid for five (5) years and must be in your possession at all times when you are carrying a firearm.
Official Government Links:
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.