Concealed Carry in Missouri
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents Only
The “Shall Issue to Residents Only” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Missouri resident if they meet all of the legal requirements. Non-Missouri residents are not eligible for the Missouri concealed carry permit.
Minimum Requirements for a Missouri Concealed Weapon Permit:
- You must be a resident of Missouri.
- A citizen of the U.S.; has assumed residency in Missouri or an a U.S. military or spouse stationed in Missouri.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must not be convicted or pled guilty of any felony.
- You must have no weapons-related misdemeanor conviction.
- You must not be convicted of two or more misdemeanors involving DWI or possession or abuse of a controlled substance within the last five (5) years.
- You must not be a fugitive from justice.
- You must not be currently charged with a felony.
- You must not be dishonorable discharged from the armed forces.
- You must not be adjudged insane or mentally deranged within the last five (5) years.
- You must have received the required firearms safety training.
- You must not be a respondent of a valid full order of protection.
Miscellaneous Missouri Concealed Carry Permit Information:
- Instructions for new applications for a license to carry concealed weapon:
- Obtain an application form from your city or county sheriff.
- Complete a firearms safety course of at least eight hours.
- Apply for a certificate of qualification at your local sheriff’s office.
- Present a copy of firearms training course certificate and accomplish the application form.
- Accomplish the fingerprinting.
- Pay the non-refundable fee of $100.
- You will be asked to make a sworn statement that all the data you provided are correct and updated to the best of your knowledge.
- You must only apply in the county where you reside.
- The sheriff has a total of 45 days to issue or reject an application, should you be rejected you may file an appeal in small claims court.
- Effective July 2004, the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) began issuing driver’s licenses and non-driver ID cards with concealed weapon endorsements. Once you receive a certificate of qualification, you must present yourself to the driver’s license bureau (within DOR) within seven days for a duplicate driver’s license/non-driver’s ID card showing the endorsement for carrying a concealed weapon. Once you have this endorsement, you must notify DOR of any change in your name or permanent address. You are required to notify DOR and the sheriff of both the old and new jurisdictions within 30 days of the change. DOR must then notify MULES within three days. DOR will also process renewal certificates of qualification, which are required every three years. However, most Missouri driver’s licenses/non-driver’s licenses are valid for six years. If you wish to renew your endorsement, you must reapply with your county sheriff , pay a nonrefundable $50 fee, then take the certificate to DOR for renewal of the endorsement. No additional firearms safety training or fingerprinting is required for renewal.
- Out of state residents cannot obtain a Missouri concealed carry endorsement. However, nothing prohibits Missouri residents from obtaining a concealed carry permit from another state, and those permits would be valid in Missouri.
Official Government Links:
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.