Concealed Carry in Montana

Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents Only

The “Shall Issue to Residents Only” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Montana resident if they meet all of the legal requirements. Non-Montana residents are not eligible for the Montana Concealed Carry Weapon License.

Minimum Requirements for a Montana Concealed Carry Weapon License:

  • You have to be a Montana resident for at least six (6) months.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen.
  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • You must not be dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
  • You must not under indictment nor have been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
  • You must list three (3) respectable citizens who have known you for at least five (5) years that will be credible witnesses to your good moral character.
  • You must not be adjudged insane or mentally deranged.
  • You must have completed a firearms safety training course.

Miscellaneous Montana Concealed Carry Weapon License Information:

  • Montana recognizes concealed weapon permit from some other states that meet the following criteria:
    1. The state that issued your permit must require a criminal records background before issuing a permit.
    2. Permit must be in your possession.
    3. You must have photo I.D.
    4. Instructions for new applications for a license to carry concealed weapon:
    5. Obtain an application form from your local county sheriff’s office.
    6. Submit accomplished application form.
    7. A copy of your training certificate.
    8. Montana driver’s license or state I.D.
    9. Passport style photograph.
    10. Accomplish fingerprinting.
    11. Application process might take up to 60 days, should you be denied you may appeal the decision with the district court.
  • Montana Concealed Carry Weapon license are valid for four (4) years.
  • Any qualified law enforcement officer with proper I.D. can carry a concealed weapon, provided:
    1. Active officers must be authorized by the agency to carry a firearm.
    2. Be of good standing with the agency.
    3. Not under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
    4. Not prohibited by federal law from carrying a firearm.
    5. Photo I.D.  issued by the agency. A badge with a photo qualifies.
    6. A Montana officer’s P.O.S.T. certification fulfills the requirements.
  • Retired officers must:
    1. Have served for at least 15 years.
    2. Completed the employer’s required probationary period if retiring due to a service-connected disability.
    3. Have a non-forfeitable right to benefits under the retirement plan of the agency.
    4. Have a standards and qualification for carrying a firearm during the most recent 12-month period.
    5. Not under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
    6. Not prohibited by federal law from carrying a firearm.
    7. Photo I.D. issued by the agency from which you retired.

Official Government Links:

Montana Code 48-8-321: Permit to carry concealed weapon

Montana Department of Justice – Concealed Weapons

 

Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.

United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.

The person cannot be:

  • under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
  • a fugitive from justice
  • an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
  • adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
  • an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
  • discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
  • someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
  • subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
  • convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
    • Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
    • Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
    • Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
    • Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.
Leave A Comment