Concealed Carry in Nevada
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
The “Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Nevada resident or non-Nevada resident if they meet all of the legal requirements.
Minimum Requirements for a Nevada Concealed Weapon License:
- You must be a resident of Nevada.
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- You must successfully complete a Concealed Carry Weapon course approved by your county sheriff.
- You should not be on parole or probation.
- You must not be under court order.
- You must not be convicted of misdemeanor or domestic violence for the past three (3) years.
- You must not be an unlawful user or addicted to any controlled substance or been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) for the last five (5) years.
- You must not under indictment nor have been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
- You must not be admitted to a mental health facility for the past five (5) years.
- You must not be a fugitive from justice.
Miscellaneous Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon License Information:
- Instructions for new applications for a license to carry concealed weapon:
- Residents and non-residents may obtain and accomplish the application form from your local county sheriff.
- Accomplish and notarize the application permit.
- Accomplish fingerprinting and picture taking in the sheriff’s office.
- For residents: Submit your driver’s license number or state I.D. number issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- For non-residents: Submit your driver’s license number or state I.D. number issued by your state.
- Pay the non-refundable application fee of $105.
- Processing may take up to 120 days after the submission of completed application.
- Nevada Concealed Carry Weapon license are valid for five (5) years for residents and three (3) years for non-residents.
Official Government Links:
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.