Concealed Carry in North Carolina
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents Only
The “Shall Issue to Residents Only” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a North Carolina resident if they meet all of the legal requirements. Non-North Carolina residents are not eligible for the North Carolina concealed carry permit.
Minimum Requirements for a North Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit:
- You must be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien.
- You are a resident of North Carolina for at least the last thirty (30) days prior to application.
- You must be at least 21 years of age or older.
- You are qualified to own a firearm in a safe manner.
- You must have completed an approved firearms training course.
- You must not under indictment nor have been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
- You must not be a fugitive from justice.
- You must not be an unlawful user or addicted to any controlled substance.
- You must not be adjudged insane or mentally deranged.
- You must not be admitted to a mental health.
- You have not renounced U.S. citizenship.
- You must not be under court order.
- You must not be convicted of misdemeanor or domestic violence.
- You must not be dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You must not have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) within three (3) years prior to application.
Miscellaneous North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit Information:
- Instructions for new applications for a license to carry concealed weapon:
- Complete an application, under oath, on a form provided by your local sheriff’s office.
- Pay the non-refundable fee of $80.
- Accomplish fingerprinting and allow the sheriff’s office to take two (2) full sets of fingerprints that may cost up to $10.
- Submit an original certificate of completion of a handgun safety course.
- Submit your North Carolina driver’s license or state I.D. card.
- Authorize to disclose to the sheriff any record concerning your health or capacity background records.
- Permit fees for a retired law enforcement officer can be reduced if you provide a copy of your letter of retirement from either the North Carolina Teacher’s and State Employees’ Retirement System or the North Carolina Local Governmental Employees’ Retirement Systems. An endorsement letter from the head of the agency indication that you was previously employed and you were neither involuntarily terminated nor under administrative or criminal investigation within six (6) months of retirement. Once presented, you will have to pay $45 for initial application and $40 for a renewal application.
- The processing of the application may take up to forty-five (45) days after submitting all the necessary documents.
- The sheriff may issue a temporary permit to an individual when deemed necessary for the individual’s safety or for the safety of his or her property or family is in immediate danger. You will be asked to submit an application, two (2) sets of fingerprints and the non-refundable fee of $80 to obtain this permit. This permit will be valid for ninety (90) days and is non-renewable.
- Certain qualified individuals are exempted from the firearms safety training course:
- Retired law enforcement officers for two (2) years of less.
- Current law enforcement officer who is authorized by the agency to carry a handgun in the course of duty.
- Licensed as an armed security guard.
- North Carolina license to carry concealed weapon are valid for five (5) years.
Official Government Links:
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.