Concealed Carry in Pennsylvania
Concealed Carry Permit Issue Class: Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents
The “Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents” classification means that the issuing official will issue a permit to a Pennsylvania resident or non-Pennsylvania resident if they meet all of the legal requirements.
Minimum Requirements for a Pennsylvania Concealed Weapon Permit:
- You must be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- For non-residents of Pennsylvania, you may apply for a license provided that you have already been issued a current license or permit to carry firearm by your home state.
- You must not under indictment nor have been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere.
- You must not be convicted of being an unlawful user or addicted to any controlled substance.
- You must not be adjudged insane or mentally deranged.
- You must not be chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages.
- You must not be a fugitive from justice.
- You must not have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).
- You must not be subject of a protection or restraining order.
- You must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm.
Miscellaneous Pennsylvania Concealed Carry Permit Information:
- Instructions for new applications for a license to carry concealed weapon:
- Obtain and accomplish the application form from your local county sheriff’s office where you reside.
- Present your Pennsylvania driver’s license or state I.D. card.
- Acquire two (2) references from respectable citizens who knows you.
- Submit your recent passport style photograph.
- Pay the application fee of $20 to $24.
- For non-residents, submit a copy of your license to carry a firearm or a concealed carry permit from your home state.
- A National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) will be performed upon application – which you must pass.
- The processing of your application may take up to 45 days upon submission of all the necessary documents.
- Pennsylvania license to carry concealed weapon are valid for five (5) years.
- Note that a license to carry firearms is not a license to purchase.
- Individuals who are 18 years of age or older and is licensed to hunt, trap or fish, or has a permit relating to hunting dogs may apply for a Sportsman’s Firearm Permit.
- Note that some county require some residency requirement period up to 90 days.
Official Government Links:
Before you can even consider a concealed carry permit, you must still be able to legally possess or own a firearm under U.S. federal law.
United States Code Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Section 922: “Firearms, Unlawful Acts” is a summary of conditions that disqualify a person from firearm possession or ownership.
The person cannot be:
- under indictment for or have been convicted of a felony. (see note 1)
- a fugitive from justice
- an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution
- an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States (see note 2)
- discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- someone who has renounced his or her U.S. citizenship;
- subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of such intimate partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child
- convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,
- Note 1: Felony conviction does not include any conviction which has been expunged or set aside, or for which a person has been pardoned, or has had civil rights restored, unless the pardon, expungement, or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms.
- Felonies don’t include non-violent business related crimes.
- Civil rights are generally restored after the sentence is completed for felonies that are not crimes against persons.
- Note 2: Legal immigrant aliens (“green card” or approved and pending green card) are not prohibited.